A little bit about the MLIS degree

I am currently a student at the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee in the School of Information Studies. I am pursuing my Master’s of Library and Information Science (MLIS) and I am focusing in Archival Studies. Yes, that is a mouthful to tell people. And, yes, I refer to it as “becoming a librarian” to keep the conversation short.

But the MLIS program is so much more than that. If I had a half hour to describe all my classes to everyone who inquires about my studies, I would. I cannot keep my statements short because the program encompasses so much. Since I would be over-informing my listeners (and probably boring them too).

In the July/August 2012 edition of American Libraries, the magazine of the American Library Association, an opinion article stuck out and I have finally been blessed with a short blurb about my program that I would gladly tell everyone and everyone I meet.  Now to share with my readers first!

JulieSteenson

Leave a Reply

